Hey all…boy I’ve got a great story for you all today. It all started around 1 AM last night when I got IMed by some idiot….and we had the following conversation (slightly abridged for clarity):
tudude91: hey
harcserf: hi
tudude91: im on the new aim express
tudude91: its better then normal aim
harcserf: who is this?
tudude91: you can sign on different sns at once
tudude91: try it
tudude91: www.aim.cjb.net
harcserf: pff no
tudude91: w/e fag
harcserf: its obviously not AIM
harcserf: its a password farm
tudude91: why not?
tudude91: ?
harcserf: im not an idiot
tudude91: yes you are
harcserf: you enter your password so that whoever owns the site can mess with your account or whatever
harcserf: AIM doesnt have frames on their site
tudude91: looks like your a fuckin genius at html
tudude91: and
tudude91: ive already stolen 4 accounts
tudude91: including this one
tudude91: LOL
harcserf: damn i wish i could fuck u up ![]()
tudude91: lol
harcserf: ya…i a genius at html….
tudude91: im srry
tudude91: but im uber l33t at evertying
harcserf: lol
tudude91: im the one who made that
harcserf: ur code sux btw
tudude91: like you can do any bettter?
tudude91: its php
harcserf: ya
harcserf: its got tons of errors
harcserf: i run php
harcserf: http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A//users.cjb.net/aim/
tudude91: you run shit
tudude91: i tired of your face
harcserf: http://jalenack.com
harcserf: my site
harcserf: how’d u get my sn?
tudude91: im a hacker
harcserf: uhhhh…
And it continued on…Now the bothersome thing was the 4 people he had suckered and gotten their passwords/screennames from, later he said he had gotten 6. The screenname TuDude91 belongs to one of my friends from NYLSC. So I sent him off an e-mail telling him what happened, and advised him to change his password if he still could. Well I got a grateful reply just now saying that he had changed his password…I posted on CodingForums to see if we could bring the site down, but I’ve gotten a lax response. Oh well. Anyway, here’s the link to the FAKE site that you SHOULDN’T write anything into. This kind of reminded me of Pirates of the Caribbean where the British Navy officers say that Johnny Depp is “The worst pirate ever.” So the moral of the story: BE SUSPICIOUS.
Update: His site was taken down by cjb.net and everything is right in the world.
There've been 8 whole comments
11:14 pm on 12/30/2004 1. Ollie
OMG what a complete wazzock
! And since when do multi-national coporations worth millions of bucks use free website redirection tools for their sites? To be honest, you’d have to be a completely n00b when it comes to the net, or half-asleep to fall for this hoax.
1:11 am on 12/31/2004 2. Andrew
hehe…let me remind you that not everyone is quite as internet savvy as us (geoffrey, ollie, me)…it did have links to AIM’s privacy policy and it was branded…but still, the tell-tale was the cjb redirect. It seems like his site has been brought down…it redirects me to google.com now..long live Jalenack!
2:03 pm on 1/1/2005 3. tsguitar
Watch the movie “Shattered Glass.” There’s a scene in there with an obviously fake Web site and it fooled a few people. Folks that don’t know what they’re looking for can be fooled quite easily.
7:59 pm on 1/4/2005 4. klam
dude, ur pro southerland 2 thumbs up
11:43 am on 1/8/2005 5. SuperDave
The internet can be a scary place. But unlike the real world, you can’t carry assault rifles, sawed off shotguns, blot-loading sniper rifles with laser sights, automatic or even a semiautomatic machine guns not even a double barreled derringer….
….or can you?
6:00 pm on 1/17/2005 6. Anonymous
Lovely to see such a wonderful site. Thank you
3:27 pm on 11/27/2005 7. l33t haxor
d00d uz si73 iz teh sux0r, w3 uber l33t rulez joo.
HA! Fucking script kiddies. Came for the AJAX (fucking amazing, btw), staying for the entertainment.
11:51 am on 10/9/2008 8. mirc indir
Thanks for apologies and articles. I said thanks admin for all my sites
mirc
mirç
mırc
mırç